The Abolitionist's Daughter

The Abolitionist s Daughter In her sweeping debut Diane C McPhail offers a powerful profoundly emotional novel that explores a little known aspect of Civil War history Southern Abolitionists and the timeless struggle to do

  • Title: The Abolitionist's Daughter
  • Author: Diane C. McPhail
  • ISBN: 149672030
  • Page: 455
  • Format: Hardcover
  • In her sweeping debut, Diane C McPhail offers a powerful, profoundly emotional novel that explores a little known aspect of Civil War history Southern Abolitionists and the timeless struggle to do right even amidst bitter conflict. On a Mississippi morning in 1859, Emily Matthews begs her father to save a slave, Nathan, about to be auctioned away from his family Judge In her sweeping debut, Diane C McPhail offers a powerful, profoundly emotional novel that explores a little known aspect of Civil War history Southern Abolitionists and the timeless struggle to do right even amidst bitter conflict. On a Mississippi morning in 1859, Emily Matthews begs her father to save a slave, Nathan, about to be auctioned away from his family Judge Matthews is an abolitionist who runs an illegal school for his slaves, hoping to eventually set them free One, a woman named Ginny, has become Emily s companion and often her conscience and understands all too well the hazards an educated slave must face Yet even Ginny could not predict the tangled, tragic string of events set in motion as Nathan s family arrives at the Matthews farm.A young doctor, Charles Slate, tends to injured Nathan and begins to court Emily, finally persuading her to become his wife But their union is disrupted by a fatal clash and a lie that will tear two families apart As Civil War erupts, Emily, Ginny, and Emily s stoic mother in law, Adeline, each face devastating losses Emily sheltered all her life is especially unprepared for the hardships to come Struggling to survive in this raw, shifting new world, Emily will discover untapped inner strength, an unlikely love, and the courage to confront deep, painful truths In the tradition of Cold Mountain, The Abolitionist s Daughter eschews stere

    • ✓ The Abolitionist's Daughter ☆ Diane C. McPhail
      455 Diane C. McPhail

    Books